WW1 Austria-Hungary Bronze Medal for Bravery (1914-1917)

$27.50 CAD

| /

Fourth Class - Bronze

14 February 1914 - April 1917 (see below)

Very good condition ,no ribbon.


The Medal for Bravery (German: Tapferkeitsmedaille) was a military decoration of Austria-Hungary. Founded on 19 July 1789, it originally came in three classes: the Gold Class, and the First and Second Silver Class. A fourth class, the Bronze, began during World War I, on 14 February 1915. Bars denoting subsequent awards within the same classes to the same honorees began on 29 November 1915. Medals awarded during World War I were minted with the countenance of Emperor Franz Josef until some months after his death. Starting in April 1917, the visage of his successor, Archduke Charles I of Austria, was substituted.