Liberal Conservative Union of Ontario - Rules for Polling Associations (~1880s)

$33.00 CAD

| /

                      Suggested for the 
Governance of Polling Sub-Division Associations
                      ISSUED BY THE
                        OF ONTARIO


Nice piece of political history.


8 pages, 6 printed.

Staining on front and back pages.

14.5  x 11 cm 


The Liberal-Conservative Party was the formal name of the Conservative Party of Canada until 1873, although some Conservative candidates continued to run under the label as late as the 1911 election and others ran as simple Conservatives prior to 1873. In many of Canada's early elections, there were both "Liberal-Conservative" and "Conservative" candidates; however, these were simply different labels used by candidates of the same party, both were part of Sir John A. Macdonald's government and official Conservative and Liberal-Conservative candidates would not, generally, run against each other. It was also not uncommon for a candidate to run on one label in one election and the other in a subsequent election.

Prominent Liberal-Conservative Members of Parliament and Senators in Canadian history include:

  • Sir John A. Macdonald
  • Sir George-Étienne Cartier
  • Sir Alexander Tilloch Galt
  • John Carling
  • Sir John Rose
  • Thomas D'Arcy McGee
  • Joseph Howe