‘FROOD MINE SUDBURY ONT. #106’.
Photo of mine shaft and site buildings.
The site known as the Frood-Stobie mine originally consisted of two mines: INCO's Frood Mine and the Mond Nickel Company's Stobie mine. Mond discovered their ore body in 1884 while INCO would discover their ore body in 1899. In 1913 a post office opened on site but would close within three years.
It was later discovered that the two ore bodies were shared. In order that both companies could continue to mine the mutually shared ore, the companies amalgamated on January 1, 1929.
During World War II, Frood Mine alone accounted for a full 40 per cent of all the nickel used in Allied artillery production.