Published in Picturesque Views of the Antiquities of England & Wales, 1786
Copper engraved print, engraved by John Walker (fl.1784-1802) .
'Published according to Act of Parliament by Alex.r Hogg, No. 16 Paternoster Row' (London).
Nice view of noble, lady pick-nicking by ocean, with ruins in background.
Nice copy on laid paper. Browning left and bottom borders. Light crease LL corner.
22.5 X 19 cm
Tynemouth Castle is located on a rocky headland (known as Pen Bal Crag), overlooking Tynemouth Pier. The moated castle-towers, gatehouse and keep are combined with the ruins of the Benedictine priory where early kings of Northumbria were buried. The coat of arms of the town of Tynemouth still includes three crowns commemorating the tradition that the Priory had been the burial place for three kings.