! COVID-19: Expect longer shipping times // Attendez-vous à des délais de livraison

Boer War Queen’s S.A. medal & four clasps (Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders)


– Sold Out


Silver medal.

Clasps for:

  • Transvaal (24 May 1900)
  • Driefontein (10 March 1900)
  • Paardeberg (17 February 1900)
  • Modder River (28 November 1899)

Awarded to (inscribed on edge) ‘3757 Pte J. Adamson, A. & S. Highrs’

Information on this soldier:

John George Adamson
Service Number 3757
Born in 1872, Parish of Shoreditch, London, Middlesex, England
        Attestation (enlistement): 5th Sept. 1890
Regiment: Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders (Princess Louise's) - 91st & 93rd Foot



The Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders (Princess Louise's) was a line infantry regiment of the British Army that existed from 1881 until amalgamation into the Royal Regiment of Scotland in March 2006.

The Queen's South Africa Medal was instituted by Queen Victoria in 1900, for award to military personnel, civilian officials and war correspondents who served in South Africa during the Second Boer War from 11 October 1899 to 31 May 1902.

Units from the British Army, Royal Navy, colonial forces from Australia, Canada, New Zealand, India, the Cape of Good Hope, the Colony of Natal and "hensoppers" (joiners and collaborators, literally "hands-uppers") from the South African Republic and Orange Free State, civilians employed in official capacity, war correspondents, and non-enlisted men of whatever nationality who drew military pay, qualified for the award of the medal. This included those such as the New Zealand 10th Contingent, who arrived in Durban in May 1902, but did not fight.

State Clasps:

"TRANSVAAL" - Awarded to all troops in the South African Republic at any time between 24 May 1900 and 31 May 1902 inclusive, who had not received a clasp for a specific action in the South African Republic.

Battle Clasps:

"DRIEFONTEIN" - Awarded to all troops with Army Headquarters, and Lieutenant General John French's column which advanced from Poplar Grove in the Orange Free State on 10 March 1900.

"MODDER RIVER" - Awarded to all troops under Lieutenant General Lord Methuen's command who were north of Heuningneskloof, Cape of Good Hope (exclusive), and south of the Magersfontein ridge (exclusive) on 28 November 1899.

"PAARDEBERG" - Awarded to all troops within 7,000 yards of General Piet Cronjé's final laager in the Orange Free State between midnight of 17 February 1900 and midnight of 26 February 1900, and to all troops within 7,000 yards of Kudusrand Drift between the same dates.