$26.00 CAD– Sold Out
Resort on a peninsula on Lake Joseph, in the Muskokas.
Dated in ink on front 'June 20, 1906'.
Postcard from 'The Canadian View Card Co. Toronto'
Light creases top 2 corners, where mounted in album.
Stanley House was the creation of W. B. McLean an Englishman, who erected
his hotel on a lofty little peninsula with steep shores. The building itself
was an ornate, four-story structure from whose towers breathtaking scenery
could be viewed in all directions. With a safe bathing beach and the usual
farm attendance, Stanley House soon became very popular for family groups.
William and Mary Bissonette purchased the Stanley House Hotel on Lake Joseph from their son-in-law Ed Leaf in 1910. Ed had purchased the hotel from W. B. McLean in 1907. Mr. McLean built the hotel. It is not known when the hotel first opened but the records show it was in operation in 1887. The original hotel burned in 1921.